Ling Profile: Arthur Santana

Arthur Santana is a visiting student from the University of São Paulo (USP) in Brazil who will be with us for this academic year! Get to know Arthur more through this short interview, and don’t forget to come to attend his talk on “Reduction via laxing in northern dialects of Brazilian Portuguese” at PhonLunch on September 11th!

IMG_8048

Ana:  Arthur, tell us a little bit about yourself. Where are you from? What are your hobbies?

Arthur: I’m from Brazil, but I’m not the kind of Brazilian who dances Samba and plays soccer every Sunday on the beach. In fact, if you ever see me dancing samba or playing soccer, I apologize. I’m from a city in northern Brazil called São Luís, mostly known for being the starting point for those who want to drive around 3 hours to go to the “Lençóis Maranhenses National Park” (if you haven’t seen it, Google it. It’s truly amazing!). I moved to São Paulo in 2013 for grad school at the University of São Paulo, which has made me even more interested in cinema, theatre, photography and finding ways to be productive while commuting.

Ana: What are your research interests?

Arthur: I’m mostly interested in Phonology, but besides Rachel Walker’s work on vowel pattern in languages, some of the reasons I wanted to visit the USC linguistics department was my interest in learning more about Phonetics and Language processing.

Ana: What are some of your favorite things about Los Angeles so far?

Arthur:  The people! I’m really impressed about how friendly and helpful they are. Also, it is really amazing to live in such a multi-cultural city, I’m constantly learning new things. Yesterday, I had Indian food with my Russian roommate while listening to Brazilian music! So fun!

Ana: What are some of your plans for this year?

Arthur:  Being here for a whole year is definitely going to help me develop my research. I’m taking courses, analyzing data, reading new authors, learning about new research topics… and of course, I want to keep experiencing what LA has to offer. There is still lots of exploring to do.

Ana: Favorite movie or tv show?

Arthur:  Not a fair question! Can I answer this by recommending a movie? The Second Mother (“Que horas ela volta?”). It’s a drama that dissects beautifully some aspects of Brazilian society.

Ana: If you were an animal, you would be….

Arthur: A dog (you can easily by my affection with food).
Leave a Reply

